Alexander Girard Color

photo 1-4

Author: Alexander Girard
Designer: Gloria Fowler
Publisher: Ammo Books
Purchased: Gift

Why: This is the first book I’m reviewing that we didn’t actually purchase ourselves – we received it as a gift. So while I have no idea where this was actually purchased, I would hazard a guess that it was an independent bookstore in Brooklyn (hipster sister gave us this one).

Pros: Lively, colorful pictures that were among the first to capture my son’s attention. There are great contrasting colors and the pictures are big, so a baby can easily see them. There also isn’t really a story here – just a rhyme describing each picture. That actually worked well for us – when my son was just beginning to take an interest in looking at books he would never last for an entire book. So the “don’t you want to finish the book” part of me was fine with putting this down whenever and picking it back up again later.

Great contrasting colors for little ones.

Great contrasting colors for little ones.

Now, I do feel that I should mention one thing…or two. Take note of the following picture in the book. LOL! Now, this doesn’t bother me in the least BUT it definitely gets comments whenever someone reads through this book for the first time. Seriously, every.single.person. says something about this page.

Its a good thing my son is too young to ask about this picture!

Its a good thing my son is too young to ask about this picture!

Durability: 5 bite marks! Unprecedented! This is a really thick board book – meaning most of the time it’s been too heavy for my son to lug around and chew on. And honestly, I’m not sure if he could actually get the whole side in his mouth – he might have to unhinge his jaw (note: I was going to say “like a snake” but a quick google search informed me that snakes actually can’t unhinge their jaws, they can just open them really wide – interesting what you learn when doing a post and wanting to make sure you don’t say something idiotic. But I digress.).

Look at how chunky this book is!

Look at how chunky this book is!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

