TBT: Doctor De Soto

It’s time for our first Throwback Thursday (TBT) Post! Thanks to some recent detective work, I located an entire box of books from my childhood. I cannot convey how I felt when I read some of these books for the first time in at least 20 years. It was like taking a time machine back to 1980-something (like the Goldberg’s reference there? Great show, by the way, and yes, I thought it looked stupid before I started watching it too.)

Note: Obviously, since these are TBT posts, I have no idea where the books were purchased or why, and I can’t really rate their durability given the amount of time that’s passed since they were being read with any sort of frequency. So I will forgo those categories on these posts.

And now, without further ado, here we go:

I was obsessed with this book as a child. Obsessed.

I was obsessed with this book as a child. Obsessed.

Author: William Steig
Illustrator: William Steig

Now, I was probably obsessed with this book more than most kids because it’s about a mouse who is a dentist, and my dad was an oral and maxillofacial surgeon (meaning he had a lot of overlap with dentistry). But the greatest thing about this story was how ingenious the mouse and his wife are when a sly fox comes in for surgery. I remember with such clarity being delighted at how the mouse out-foxed the fox. I won’t ruin the details, but for those who haven’t had the opportunity to read this book, it is a gem, and thankfully it’s still around. You can purchase it through Amazon here.

Oh, that poor fox!

Oh, that poor fox!

And holy smokes! There is another Doctor De Soto book?!?! I don’t know how my mother missed this when I was a kid but I will be remedying this oversight immediately.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

