Red Truck (…yes, another truck book)

I know, ANOTHER truck book!

I know, ANOTHER truck book!

Author: Kersten Hamilton

Illustrator: Valeria Petrone

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Purchased: Barnes & Noble

Why: Now that we’re down in Texas I’ve needed to find indoor places where you won’t get the stink eye for letting your toddler run around. The Barnes & Noble kids section is one such safe place – and since we’re taking advantage of their space, I figure I can at least buy a book every so often. This one caught my attention with the bright fun cover. The easy rhyme inside sold me.

This is a low word count picture book. Seriously. Check out this page as an example.

20140609-103311-37991009.jpg

But the story and the rhyme just flow so nicely. School bus is stuck, red truck needs to get there and tow it to safety. Hurry red truck!

My son loves the illustrations. Even though the story features mud and rain, the whole book is bright (which is a contrast to the illustration style of the Little Blue Truck series – which we adore as well – just noting the illustration differences here).

Yes, it’s another truck book. No, it’s not the same as Little Blue Truck. You can safely add this one to your collection without worry.

This is my favorite text page. I love how the first line reads.

This is my favorite text page. I love how the first line reads.

Durability: 3 bite marks. Son has already chewed a hole through the binding and into several of the first pages. It’s a good chew and carry size.

Final note: I think I should start writing a “Yellow Truck” series so all of the primary colors are covered.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

